Michigan Traffic Ticket

Understand the Michigan Points System


Police Officer Pointing Speed Gun


The unfortunate reality is that just about everyone will get a traffic citation at some time or another. Receiving a traffic ticket will add points on your driving record that will increase your monthly car insurance rates. It is very important to understand just how many points will be put onto your driver’s record. Knowing this information will allow you to decide how to deal with your ticket. Generally in most situations, you can find three choices to deal with a traffic ticket- pay it, take traffic school online and dismiss it, or battle it in court. The list beneath will let you figure out how many points will be put onto your record for several types of traffic tickets.

Michigan Traffic Ticket Points
  • 10 mph or less over the legal speed limit: 2 points
  • Open alcohol container in vehicle: 2 points
  • All other moving violations of traffic laws: 2 points
  • Refusal of Preliminary Breath Test (PBT) by anyone under age 21: 2 points
  • Careless driving: 3 points
  • Disobeying a traffic signal or stop sign or improper passing: 3 points
  • 11-15 mph over the legal speed limit: 3 points
  • Failure to stop at railroad crossing: 3 points
  • Failure to stop for a school bus, or disobeying a school crossing guard: 3 points
  • Drag racing: 4 points
  • Operating while visibly impaired: 4 points
  • Under age 21 with any measurable blood alcohol content: 4 points
  • 16 mph or more over the legal speed limit: 4 points
  • Failure to yield or show due caution for emergency vehicles: 4 points
  • Manslaughter, negligent homicide, or other felony involving use of a motor vehicle: 6 points
  • Operating under the influence of liquor or drugs: 6 points
  • Failing to stop and give identification at the scene of a crash: 6 points
  • Reckless driving: 6 points
  • Unlawful blood alcohol concentration (BAC) of 0.08% or more: 6 points
  • Refusal to take a chemical test: 6 points
  • Fleeing or eluding a police officer: 6 point
Dismiss Your Michigan Traffic Ticket with Traffic School

One option for coping with your traffic citation without the problem of court is usually to use an online traffic school program. Lasting between 4-8 hours, an online traffic school training course is often used from home. Taking traffic school to dismiss your violation will probably be much less pricey compared to insurance premium increases you’d probably otherwise pay. Enroll in online traffic school below and find out about state requirements.

Featured Ticket Dismissal Course

More than 1,000,000 customers satisfied. is the number one provider of Traffic School courses for ticket dismissal online.

Approved Traffic School Online
  • Court and DMV Approved
  • Dismiss your ticket Online
  • Certificate processing same day