New Jersey Traffic Ticket Fines


New Jersey traffic tickets may at first glance seem affordable but they end up being much more expensive than most people think. On top of the listed fine on your ticket (or below) you will also have to pay court administration fees which can be over $200 and your car insurance rates will increase by over 20% for most people. This can mean thousands of dollars in the long run. However there are ways to minimize the costs. To potentially lower your traffic ticket fine, avoid points on your record, and avoid insurance rate increases, you should consider taking New Jersey online traffic school.

Find Out the Cost of A New Jersey Traffic Ticket
  • Violating a restriction on conditional license: $51(39:3-11)
  • Failure to use headlights with wipers: $47(39:3-47a)
  • Failure to stop when emerging from alley, driveway or garage: $47(39:4-66)
  • Failure to yield right-of-way when entering private road or driveway: $47(39:4-66.1)
  • Failure to observe traffic signal: $81(39:4-81)
  • Failure to keep right: $81(39:4-82)
  • Failure to keep right at intersection: $81(39:4-83)
  • Wrong way on one-way street: $81(39:4-85.1)
  • Slow speed so as to impede or block traffic: $81 (39:4-97.1)
  • Speeding, exceeding limit by 1-9 miles per hour: $81(39:4-98)
  • Speeding, exceeding limit by 1-9 miles per hour in a Safe Corridor or Construction Zone speeding: $136(39:4-98)
  • Speeding, exceeding limit by 10-14 miles per hour: $91(39:4-98)
  • Speeding, exceeding limit by 10-14 miles per hour in a Safe Corridor, Construction Zone, or 65 MPH area: $156(39:4-98)
  • Speeding, exceeding limit by 15-19 miles per hour: $101(39:4-98)
  • Speeding, exceeding limit by 15-19 miles per hour in a Safe Corridor, Construction Zone, or 65 MPH area: $176 (39:4-98)
  • Speeding, exceeding limit by 20-24 miles per hour: pursuant to $196(39:4-98)
  • Speeding, exceeding limit by 25-29 miles per hour: pursuant to $216(39:4-98
  • )

  • Speeding, exceeding limit by 30-34 miles per hour: pursuant to $236(39:4-98
  • )

  • Speeding, exceeding limit by 35-39 miles per hour: pursuant to $256(39:4-98
  • )

  • Exceeding the posted speed limit by 40 miles per hour or more requires a court appearance.