North Carolina Speeding Ticket

Learn about North Carolina speeding tickets, points, and how to dismiss your NC speeding ticket


Police Officer Pointing Speed Gun


One in six Americans gets a speeding or traffic ticket every year based on recent studies. What’s more, the fine on the North Carolina speeding ticket is just the beginning of the fines that you will have to face. To begin with, the fine itself is normally quite large. On top of the speeding ticket fine, you’ll need to pay court and processing service fees which could cost more than $100. Your North Carolina driver record will be affected and points will be added for the speeding citation. And also the more points you possess against your North Carolina record, the more expensive car insurance will cost you. Reported by the latest data, having only just one speeding citation against your driving record will raise your car insurance costs by 20%. Have 3 speeding citations? See your premiums raise by as much as 50%. With speeding tickets remaining on your driving record for five years, even one speeding ticket creates long-lasting and costly consequences.

North Carolina Speeding Ticket and Points

North Carolina relies on a point system to keep an eye on speeding tickets and also other traffic tickets. Within the North Carolina point system, the more violations you have, the more your car or truck insurance coverage will cost and occasionally you might have your license suspended. The information below indicates how many points will be added to your driving record for a North Carolina speeding ticket.

  • Speeding in excess of 55 miles per hour: 3 points
  • Speeding in a school zone in excess of the posted school zone speed limit: 3 points
  • Most other speeding violations: 2 points
Dismiss Your North Carolina Speeding Ticket Today

Avoid the negative consequences of a North Carolina speeding ticket by taking North Carolina traffic school online. Sign up in moments and begin your course today.

  • Dismiss your ticket quickly and easily
  • Avoid points on your North Carolina driving record
  • Avoid EXPENSIVE car insurance premiums
  • 100% Online and can be taken from home

Featured Ticket Dismissal Course

More than 1,000,000 customers satisfied. is the number one provider of Traffic School courses for ticket dismissal online.

Approved Traffic School Online
  • Court and DMV Approved
  • Dismiss your ticket Online
  • Certificate processing same day

How to Enroll in North Carolina Traffic School

It is rather easy to register fora North Carolina state approved traffic school. You’ll be able to stay away from each of the unfavorable penalties of a North Carolina traffic citation by following these simple steps.

Step 1: Contact the Court

Before you can register for traffic school to dismiss your citation, you need to phone the court and find out. The court’s contact info will be located on your ticket.

Step 2: Find a DMV Approved North Carolina Traffic School

Now that you’ve got authorization from the court, get a North Carolina state accredited traffic school training course. You are able to take an face-to-face or internet traffic school, but most folks favor online courses for their flexibility and convenience. As soon as you choose your course, enroll.

Step 3:Complete the Traffic School Course

Just finish the course prior to the deadline on your ticket. Using our recommended North Carolina online traffic school program you can take the course from the convenience of your own home, on any computer, and sign in and out as you please. Also, you will be able to take the final exam as many times as you need until you pass.

Step 4: Deliver Your Traffic School Certificate of Completion

Upon completion of the program, you will be sent a certificate of completion. You will need to bring it to the court in most cases.