Oregon Speeding Ticket

Learn about your Oregon Speeding Ticket, points, and how to dismiss a OR speeding ticket


Police Officer Pointing Speed Gun


No one wants to recieve a speeding citation but at some point or another most people do. And even worse, when you havea speeding ticket in Oregon, the penalties are definitely much greater than the fine on the citation. The initial punishment would be the fine on its own, which often times winds up becoming considerably more when compared to fine that appears on the speeding ticket. The court and processing fees that go along with the fine will set you back above $100 as well as the speeding citation fine. In addition, in Oregon, should you obtain a speeding citation you will get tickets added onto your record. Having these tickets put onto your record will trigger more pricey insurance rates. For a single speeding citation this can mean a 20% rise in insurance rates and for anyone with three speeding tickets, your car insurance rates could increase by over 50%. Since these points remain on your Oregon record for five years, that is a very costly consequence of just one Oregon speeding ticket.

Oregon Speeding Ticket and Points

In the state of Oregon, rather than use a traditional points system like many states, the Oregon DMV uses a system that counts all preventable accidents and traffic tickets the same no matter how severe they are. These tickets can cause your insurance rates to go up and can bring about license suspension. Learn more about the Oregon Driver Improvement System below.

Step 1: Advisory Letter sent from the DMV to the driver if they are:

  • Convicted of two traffic offenses occurring within a 12-month period; or
  • Involved in two preventable accidents occurring within a 12-month period; or
  • Convicted of one traffic offense and was involved in one preventable accident, both within a 12-month period.

Step 2: Warning Letter sent from the DMV to the driver

  • Convicted of one traffic offense or was involved in one preventable accident within six months of the mailing date of the advisory letter;
  • Convicted of two traffic offenses or was involved in two preventable accidents or one of each within 12 months of the mailing date of the advisory letter; or
  • Convicted of three traffic offenses or was involved in three preventable accidents or a combination of the two within an 18-month period, regardless of whether DMV had sent an advisory letter.

Step 3: Driver Improvement Interview

A face-to-face meeting with a counselor to explain the Driver Improvement Program, to discuss the person’s driving record and remedies to the driving problems, and to determine required action for improvements:

  • Convicted of one traffic offense or was involved in one preventable accident within six months of the mailing date of the warning letter; or
  • Convicted of two traffic offenses or was involved in two preventable accidents or one of each within 12 months or the mailing date of the warning letter; or
  • Convicted of four or more traffic offenses or was involved in four preventable accidents or a combination of both within any 18-month period, regardless of whether DMV had sent an advisory letter.
Dismiss Your Oregon Speeding Ticket Today

Avoid the negative consequences of a Oregon speeding ticket by taking Oregon traffic school online. Sign up in moments and begin your course today.

  • Dismiss your ticket quickly and easily
  • Avoid tickets on your Oregon driving record
  • Avoid EXPENSIVE car insurance premiums
  • 100% Online and can be taken from home

Featured Ticket Dismissal Course

More than 1,000,000 customers satisfied. is the number one provider of Traffic School courses for ticket dismissal online.

Approved Traffic School Online
  • Court and DMV Approved
  • Dismiss your ticket Online
  • Certificate processing same day

How to Enroll in Oklahoma Traffic School

It is extremely simple to enroll in a Oregon state certified traffic school. Abide by all these easy steps and you can dismiss your Oregon traffic ticket, keep tickets off your driver record, and steer clear of higher priced car insurance.

Step 1: Contact the Court

Using the info found on your traffic violation, call up the court to inquire about if you possibly can use traffic school.

Step 2: Find a DMV Approved Oregon Traffic School

Look for a state accredited traffic school upon getting court consent. You are able to use an face-to-face or internet traffic school, but a majority of people today choose online courses for their flexibility and convenience. After you select your course, register.

Step 3:Complete the Traffic School Course

Always finish the program in advance of your deadline. Using our recommended Oregon online traffic school program you can take the course from the convenience of your own home, on any computer, and sign in and out as you please. Also, you will be able to take the final exam as many times as you need until you pass.

Step 4: Deliver Your Traffic School Certificate of Completion

By the end of the Oregon traffic school training course, you will get a certificate of completion. You will need to deliver the completion certificate to the court.