Virginia Traffic Ticket

Understand the Virginia Points System


Police Officer Pointing Speed Gun


Everybody dreads finding blue police lights in their mirror and being given a traffic ticket, but it really happens to many of us. It’s very important to understand just how many points will be put onto your record if you receive a traffic ticket since it will have an impact on your monthly auto insurance premiums. Figuring Out this information will assist you to decide how to take care of your violation. You’ll have three options to proceed with the traffic citation- dismissing it with traffic school, paying it, or arguing it in court. Use the information underneath to better understand the point system in your state and exactly how many points the traffic citation will add to your record.

Virginia Traffic Ticket
  • Reckless driving – speeding in excess of 80 mph: 6 points
  • Reckless driving – speeding 20 mph or more above the posted speed limit: 6 points
  • Reckless driving – racing: 6 points
  • Reckless driving – passing or overtaking an emergency vehicle: 6 points
  • Reckless driving – passing a school bus: 6 points
  • Reckless driving – passing on the crest of a hill: 6 points
  • Reckless driving – passing at a railroad crossing: 6 points
  • Reckless driving – passing two vehicles abreast: 6 points
  • Reckless driving – driving two vehicles abreast: 6 points
  • Reckless driving – driving too fast for conditions: 6 points
  • Reckless driving – failing to give a proper signal: 6 points
  • Reckless driving – faulty brakes/improper control: 6 points
  • Reckless driving – on parking lots: 6 points
  • Reckless driving – with an obstructed view: 6 points
  • Reckless driving: 6 points
  • Speeding 20 mph or more above the posted speed limit: 6 points
  • Driving while intoxicated: 6 points
  • Driving after illegally consuming alcohol (persons under age 21): 6 points
  • Involuntary manslaughter/alcohol: 6 points
  • Refusing blood/breath test: 6 points
  • Driving while your license is suspended or revoked for driving while intoxicated: 6 points
  • Driving while your license is revoked for driving while intoxicated – maiming: 6 points
  • Driving while your license is revoked for driving while intoxicated – involuntary manslaughter: 6 points
  • Manslaughter: 6 points
  • Involuntary manslaughter: 6 points
  • Involuntary manslaughter/aggravated: 6 points
  • Driving after being declared a habitual offender: 6 points
  • Authorizing person suspended for habitual offender and/or driving while intoxicated to drive: 6 points
  • Driving on suspended license: 6 points
  • Driving while your license is suspended or revoked: 6 points
  • Driving while your license is suspended or revoked for non-payment of court fines and costs: 6 points
  • Driving under suspension or revocation before giving proof of financial responsibility: 6 points
  • Speeding 20 mph or more above the posted speed limit: 6 points
  • Injuring person while racing – felony: 6 points
  • Failure to stop at the scene of a crash – injury: 6 points
  • Failure to stop at the scene of a crash – death: 6 points
  • Failure to stop at the scene of a crash – property damage of $1000 or more: 6 points
  • Emergency vehicle violation – death: 6 points
  • Vehicular assault or willful stopping, impeding or damaging vehicle: 6 points
  • Blocking access to service facility: 6 points
  • Attempting to elude police: 6 points
  • Passing stopped school bus (non-reckless): 6 points
  • Operating unsafe vehicle: 6 points
  • Reckless driving – failure to stop before entering a highway: 4 points
  • Speeding: 4 points
  • Speeding 10-14 mph above the posted speed limit: 4 points
  • Speeding 15-19 mph above the posted speed limit: 4 points
  • Speeding 10-19 mph above the posted speed limit: 4 points
  • Passing when unsafe: 4 points
  • Passing to the left of approaching vehicle: 4 points
  • Failure to drive to the right and stop for police/fire/emergency vehicle: 4 points
  • Failure to stop for pedestrian with white cane: 4 points
  • Failure to stop and yield right-of-way: 4 points
  • Failure to yield right-of-way: 4 points
  • Failure to yield when turning left: 4 points
  • Failure to yield to funeral procession: 4 points
  • Failure to drive on right half of highway or street: 4 points
  • Failure to keep to the right when crossing an intersection: 4 points
  • Driving to the left of rotary traffic island: 4 points
  • Following too closely: 4 points
  • Failure to signal before moving from curb: 4 points
  • Improper signal: 4 points
  • Operating a motor vehicle while suspended/revoked/restricted with a blood alcohol content of .02% or more: 4 points
  • Failure to stop at the scene of a crash, unattended property, damage in excess of $500: 4 points
  • Failure to stop at the scene of a crash, property damage: 4 points
  • Emergency vehicle violation – property damage: 4 points
  • Emergency vehicle violation – injury: 4 points
  • Aggressive driving: 4 points
  • Failure to obey traffic signal: 4 points
  • Failure to obey lane directional signal: 4 points
  • Failure to obey highway lane markings: 4 points
  • Improper backing, stopping or turning: 4 points
  • Driving the wrong way on one-way highway or street: 4 points
  • Impeding/disrupting funeral procession: 4 points
  • Disregarding police officer’s signal to stop: 4 points
  • Disregarding crossing guard/officer’s signal: 4 points
  • Failure to obey railroad crossing signal: 4 points
  • Failure to slow down/stop at a railroad crossing: 4 points
  • Speeding 1-9 mph above the posted speed limit: 3 points
  • Impeding traffic, slow speed: 3 points
  • Improper passing: 3 points
  • Improper passing on the right: 3 points
  • Improper driving: 3 points
  • Improper stopping on highway: 3 points
  • Changing course after signaling: 3 points
  • Coasting with gears in neutral: 3 points
  • Failure to give way in favor of overtaking vehicle: 3 points
  • Failure to give way when abreast of another car: 3 points
  • Driving through safety zone: 3 points
  • Driving over fire hose: 3 points
  • Unauthorized use of crossover on controlled highway: 3 points
  • Driving/riding on sidewalk: 3 points
  • Improper turn: 3 points
  • Improper U-turn: 3 points
  • Violation of right turn on red: 3 points
  • Violation of left turn on red: 3 points
  • Failure to obey highway sign: 3 points
  • Evading traffic control device: 3 points
  • Driving without lights/excessive lights: 3 points
  • Failure to dim headlights: 3 points
  • Parking without proper lights displayed: 3 points
  • Inadequate hazard lights: 3 points
  • Failure to stop at the scene of a crash, unattended property: 3 points
  • Failure to leave the scene of a crash at the direction of officer: 3 points
  • Failure to report a crash, unattended property, less than $250 damage: 3 points
  • Following/parking within 500 feet of fire apparatus: 3 points
  • Emergency vehicle violation: 3 points
  • Drinking while driving: 3 points
  • Improper driving/riding motorcycle: 3 points
  • Driving with TV screen visible to driver: 3 points
  • Driving while using earphones: 3 points
  • Passenger restriction violation: 3 points
  • Curfew violation: 3 points
Dismiss Your Virginia Traffic Ticket with Traffic School

One choice for attending to your traffic ticket without the problem of court is to take an online traffic school training course. The benefit of using online traffic school is it can be taken in your own home at your own schedule. Using traffic school to dismiss your violation is going to be way less expensive compared to the insurance coverage premium increases you’d probably otherwise pay. Find out about online traffic school and in some cases sign up below.

Featured Ticket Dismissal Course

More than 1,000,000 customers satisfied. is the number one provider of Traffic School courses for ticket dismissal online.

Approved Traffic School Online
  • Court and DMV Approved
  • Dismiss your ticket Online
  • Certificate processing same day