West Virginia Speeding Ticket

Learn about West Virginia speeding tickets, points, and how to dismiss your WV speeding ticket


Police Officer Pointing Speed Gun


Having a speeding citation is not a fun experience, yet still one in six American drivers obtains a speeding citation or traffic violation each year. And when you have a West Virginia speeding ticket, the consequences go beyond just paying a fee. To start with, the fine that’s listed on the citation usually is much less expensive than what you will truly wind up paying for the speeding ticket. In addition to the significant fine for the speeding citation, you also have to pay for court and processing charges that could reach over $100 in many situations. On top of that, in West Virginia, when you get a speeding ticket you will get points added onto your driver record. Getting these points added to your driving record will induce costlier insurance charges. Believe it or not, in accordance with current data, one speeding ticket can increase your premiums by about 20% and getting three speeding or traffic tickets on your driving record, can increase your auto insurance rates as much as 50%. Seeing as points remain on your West Virginia driving record for 5 years, acquiring even a single speeding citation is incredibly expensive.

West Virginia Speeding Ticket and Points

The West Virginia points system is employed to keep an eye on speeding tickets along with other traffic citations. The results in this system for accumulating a great number of points are more expensive car insurance payments and sometimes driver’s license suspension. In West Virginia, speeding tickets have the following point values:

  • Speeding in a school zone: 6 points
  • Speeding 15 mph or more above posted limit: 5 points
  • Speeding 10 to 14 m.p.h. above posted limit: 3 points
  • Speeding 5 to 9 m.p.h. above posted limit: 2 points
Dismiss Your West Virginia Speeding Ticket Today

Avoid the negative consequences of a West Virginia speeding ticket by taking West Virginia traffic school online. Sign up in moments and begin your course today.

  • Dismiss your ticket quickly and easily
  • Avoid tickets on your West Virginia driving record
  • Avoid EXPENSIVE car insurance premiums
  • 100% Online and can be taken from home

Featured Ticket Dismissal Course

More than 1,000,000 customers satisfied. is the number one provider of Traffic School courses for ticket dismissal online.

Approved Traffic School Online
  • Court and DMV Approved
  • Dismiss your ticket Online
  • Certificate processing same day

How to Enroll in West Virginia Traffic School

Taking a state accredited West Virginia traffic school and signing up for it truly is very simple. You may avoid each of the bad consequences of a West Virginia traffic ticket by following these steps.

Step 1: Contact the Court

Get in touch with the court from which you were given your traffic citation to find out if you could use traffic school to dismiss your traffic ticket. You can easily find this crucial court contact info on your ticket.

Step 2: Find a DMV Approved West Virginia Traffic School

Choose a West Virginia traffic school that is definitely state authorized after you have court permission. You’ll find online and face-to-face options for traffic school but a majority of individuals pick out online for its ease. Then using your citation information, enroll in the program.

Step 3:Complete the Traffic School Course

Complete the West Virginia traffic school program. Using our recommended West Virginia online traffic school program you can take the course from the convenience of your own home, on any computer, and sign in and out as you please. Also, you will be able to take the final exam as many times as you need until you pass.

Step 4: Deliver Your Traffic School Certificate of Completion

You will be sent a completion certificate right at the end of the training course. Based on the precise directions on your traffic ticket you’ll either have to mail this to the court or deliver this to the court.